Big Book,  YA


Rebecca Lim
Hell hath no fury like an angel scorned…
Heartbreak. Vengeance. Truth. Betrayal.
Everything that has happened to Mercy over millennia has made her who she is. Now she and The Eight wage open war with Luc and his demons, and the earth is their battlefield.
Ryan’s love for Mercy is more powerful than ever, her guiding light in the hour of darkness. But the very love that sustains her now places Ryan in mortal danger.
Two worlds collide as Mercy approaches her ultimate breathtaking choice.
Hell hath no fury like Mercy.

Please note there are spoilers for the previous three books in this series.
When I read the blurb for this, the forth book in the Fury series, I thought it sounded fascinating. Unfortunately I hadn’t read the other three so I dug out my trusty Kindle and got typing! I devoured the first three books and really enjoyed them. They are pacey and easy to read, I enjoyed the story of Mercy developing as well as the stories of the individuals that feature in those books.
So in a nutshell this is what we have learned over the last three books, Mercy is an arch angel she was thrown down to Earth by her lover Luc (Lucifer) to save himself.This didn’t work as he was imprisoned on Earth himself with other fallen angels and they have been causing destruction and disaster ever since. However Luc made Mercy a promise when they were both Angels and this prevents him from taking over the Earth altogether. He needs to find Mercy and get her back with him to win the ultimate battle and have complete control of Heaven and Earth. The Eight (the highest un-fallen angels) know this and have been hiding Mercy from Luc by hiding her in the bodies of mortal women. These experiences mean that Mercy had no idea who she really was for more years than you could care to remember, and that she has been changed by experiencing the lives of mortals, she is not a fallen angel, but she is not a true angel in her belief’s anymore either. Meanwhile Luc has been wreaking his havoc on The Eight in an attempt to finally find Mercy. As the Eight are weakened Mercy has been able to remember who she is as she is moved from one body to another (something she has previously unable to do) and therefore she has been able to learn more of her story and begin to take memories from one life to the next. This also means that she remembers Ryan. Ryan is a boy she began to have feelings for, although she is still confused about her feelings for Luc as she meets him in her dreams and sees him as her eternal love. Ryan has become more and more important to her and in the last book, Muse, Mercy effectively finally chose Ryan over Luc. Unsurprisingly Luc is not happy about how things are progressing. More of The Eight are vanishing and a battle ensues. We left Mercy and Ryan on a church rooftop in Milan, with Ryan close to death, it was a big cliff-hanger!
So Fury begins right where Muse finished and you are straight back in the heart of the action. Rebecca Lim writes well and is great at describing a scene and the settings come vividly to life. As Luc continues to bring devastation to the world Mercy must decide how to help and try and figure out how she can stay with Ryan which, being as he is a mortal and she an immortal, seems impossible.
The mess and fear that Luc causes feels real, but I felt that now the love triangle side was more or less over some of the tension was missing in this book. In fact in this respect there was not enough fury, Mercy’s realisation of Luc’s huge betrayal of her just didn’t feel strong enough to me. There was plenty of vengeance wrought, but it seemed to come from a lot of different paths and what Luc has done to mercy seemed to take a backseat. In addition Ryan being her sustaining love and reason for existence got a bit irritating at times and felt in the way of the action and mystery.
I also felt that I missed the part of the story where Mercy inhabits another body as she is now purely herself. However I enjoyed her working out her abilities and how to use her powers. I loved that the irony was continued from the previous books that she can fly, but is scared of heights! As Mercy pits herself against the demons and tries to help the Eight the pace didn’t let up and I wanted to keep reading, however my overall feeling at the end was that some things just seemed a little too easy for Mercy to achieve. Mercy seemed to be able to outwit and defeat the demons quite easily. This was explained in the story and far from Mercy needing protection she became a protector herself.
Generally the story remained unpredictable and I really liked that aspect of it. I began to suspect what might happen in the end and was a bit disappointed in the final resolution of the story. I do like a happy ending and for all the ends to be tied up, but this was a little to tidy, even for me! I was also a bit frustrated that if this was possible why didn’t they do it earlier? It would have saved a lot of bother to have done this back in book one!!
Verdict: I did enjoy this book a lot, I did have moments of disappointment, but it kept me turning the pages! This is a series that I would recommend if you like a bit of super-natural, a bit of mystery and some romance in your bedtime reading!
Reviewed by Helen

Publisher: Harper Collins Children’s
Publication Date: March 2012
Format: Paperback
Pages: 384
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Age: YA
Reviewer: Helen
Source: Received from publisher
Challenge: None

One Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: